Skip to content

Is it Asians, Women, Old People or Cell Phones?

May 7, 2012

I don’t know if it’s because there are too many Asians, women, old people or cell-phone drivers on the road (assuming driving stereotypes are true, aren’t they all?) but I find that driving is nothing more than being stuck behind people going too slow, trying to pass them on the right in order to get ahead in the flow of too-slow cars, over and over again.  If I had my way I’d love to get into these people’s heads and find out what in the world are they thinking!

Well, yeah, kinda.

#1 The left lane is for passing/going faster than everyone else.  It is not your job to enforce the speed limit.

#2 Going slow is not always safer.  Going too slow is dangerous.  If you go too slow others will be forced to brake behind you and it is possible that they will hit you.

#3 When you see a curve coming up you don’t have to slam on your brakes. Puh-leeeease.

#4 When there is a speed limit sign, you don’t have to slam on your brakes either.  Especially if the sign is actually INCREASING the speed limit.

#5 When it is foggy, putting on your flashers just lights up the fog for the people behind you and adds to the glare, making it HARDER for them to see.  Also, it’s annoying.   And if you are going slow enough that someone is behind you at all, PULL OVER!!!!  It will be easier for you to follow someone anyway.

That brings me to #6, PULL OVER! it’s the law, people.  That’s what turnouts are for.  If you are on a two lane highway, going slower than everyone else and you have cars behind you (especially if there are more than 15!!!) then pull the heck over.  There are signs that say so.  And if there is a passing lane, don’t go to the left and don’t speed up.  Let people pass you.  Again, you are not there to enforce the speed limit.

#7 On that note, 20 miles an hour UNDER the speed limit is not OK.  If you are driving in the mountains and you are scared/looking at the surrounding scenery/not used to the curves/feeling like you’re going to throw up, PULL OVER for the people behind you.  They have somewhere to go and there are no side streets or multiple lanes to get around you.

By the way, as I am typing this my right ring finger is numb.  Why?  I don’t know but it makes it harder to type.

#8 Please don’t go WAY too fast and weave in and out of traffic.  You know who you are.  You are the ones writing blogs about all the slow drivers out there.  Sheesh.

I GUESS there’s the slight possibility that I might just be a sub-par driver myself.  I mean, I have been known to put on my makeup while talking on my cell phone, driving on a curvy mountain road while it was snowing.  I’m actually not kidding. heh heh.  But the reason I can do this is because I am such a superior driver!  Safe driving is always my priority which is evidenced by the fact that I have mascara stains on my flip-down mirror and foundation on my steering wheel.  I will always sacrifice my makeup for safe driving.  Also, I have never gotten a ticket and have only gotten into accidents with parked cars (how embarrassing…but that was a long time ago!).  So I have a GREAT driving record.  Even if I AM a woman.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Graham permalink
    May 11, 2012 11:14 am

    Ha ha…I’ve been in accidents with a few poles in my time….I’m not really good at backing up…it seems the pole just comes out of no where. Ha..ha..Love your comments about the turnouts….so true!!

  2. Ed McGee permalink
    November 26, 2012 12:10 pm

    I put “mean kids” morman in Google to find out about Morman culture and if Morman children had the reputation I remember from 35 years ago when I lived out west. My kids are very young and the new neighbors (Mormans) kids after several months all of a sudden are knocking on the door every day to play with my kids and from their behavior all I see is red flags that say don’t let your kids play with them under any circumstances. When my daughter was 2 and AAA came to fix a flat tire she asked afterwards if the man with the blue shirt was coming back. You would have refered to him as the “black guy” as in your other blog. My daughter is half Asian and thinks things like character & integrity are important. My kids are the kind of kids that other parents at the park seem to bond with. Oh and they also like senior citizens and have no problem chatting them up. Thank you so much for helping me with my due diligence on Morman culture.

  3. November 26, 2012 4:42 pm

    So sorry to hear that you are looking for validation of your already poor opinion of Mormons through one annoying family and some no-name’s blog post (tagged: HUMOR) about bad driving. I’m also sorry to hear that you choose to take offense so easily. You must be a very sad person. But I’m glad you have good kids. So do I. Maybe they’ll meet someday and become friends! Although I am kind of concerned that your kids are befriending adults at the park.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers

